Order Prohibiting and Restricting Outdoor Burning
WHEREAS, the Commissioners' Court finds that circumstances present in all or part of the unincorporated area of the county create a public safety hazard that would be exacerbated by outdoor burning;
IT IS HEREBY ORDERED by the Commissioners' Court of coryell County that outdoor burning of all substances is prohibited, subject to the following allowable restricted outdoor burning:
This order: 1. Is effective at sunset on December 11, 2017 for 90 days from the date of adoption, unless terminated earlier based on a determination made by this Court, or County Judge that a public safety hazard no longer exists.
2. Is adopted pursuant to Local Government Code §352.081, and other applicable statutes.
3. Does not prohibit outdoor burning activities related to public health and safety that are authorized by the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality for:
a) firefighter training
b) public utility, natural gas pipeline or mining operations
c) planting or harvesting of agricultural crops
d) burns that are conducted by a prescribed bum manager certified under §153.048, Natural Resources Code, and meet the standards of § 153 .047 Natural Resources Code
e) welding with spotter with sufficient water sources, and
f) burning of domestic waste in a barrel when using screen with no larger than 3/8" holes
In accordance with Local Government Code §352.081(h), a violation of this Order is a Class C misdemeanor, punishable by a fine not to exceed $500.00.
Coryell County citizens are reminded that all outdoor burning is required to comply with the State Outdoor Burning Rule, Title 30, Texas Administrative Code, Sections 111.201 through 111.221 and the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (T.C.E.Q.) guidance, RG-049 dated August 2007.
Citizens are asked to contact the County Sheriff's Office at (254) 865-7201, to alert them that a controlled outdoor burn will be conducted. Citizens are reminded that standard State restrictions remain in effect.
T.C.E.Q. rules also state that a fire must be attended by a responsible person at all times during the active burning phase and that no burning is to begin sooner than one hour after sunrise and must be completed on the same day no later than one hour before sunset. Citizens are urged to use extreme caution and responsible judgment. The T.C.E.Q. publishes guidance document to assist in interpreting the Outdoor Burning Rule in Texas.